Tuesday, January 28, 2014

NC Core study committee meeting

Representative Larry G. Pittman
North Carolina General Assembly
House of Representatives
1321 Legislative Building
16 W. Jones Street
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096

January 21, 2014

Here is the official announcement of the next Common Core study committee meeting. I regret to inform you that there will be no public comment allowed. It has been my opinion from the beginning that public comment should have been allowed at every meeting of this committee, but I don’t get to make those decisions. 

We have been told that public comment will be allowed at the third meeting of the committee. However, that meeting will not occur until after the short session this summer. 

Although no public comment will be allowed on February 20th, it is still a good thing to have as many concerned citizens present as possible. We will continue to keep you informed as things develop.

Raleigh, North Carolina 27601

January 21, 2014


TO: Members, Committee on Common Core State Standards (LRC)(2013) 
FROM: Rep. Bryan R. Holloway, Co-Chair
Sen. Dan Soucek, Co-Chair

SUBJECT: Meeting Notice

The Committee on Common Core State Standards (LRC)(2013) will meet at the following time:

DAY DATE TIME LOCATION:   Thursday February 20, 2014 10:00 AM 643 LOB

Parking for non-legislative meeting attendees is available in the visitor parking deck #75 located on Salisbury Street across from the Legislative Office Building.
Parking is also available in the parking lot across Jones Street from the State Library/Archives. You can view a map of downtown by visitinghttp://www.ncleg.net/graphics/downtownmap.pdf.

If you are unable to attend or have any questions concerning this meeting, please contact Isabel Villa-Garcia at 

Dan Soucek (Chair): (919) 733-5742(919) 733-5742
Chad Barefoot: (919) 715-3036(919) 715-3036Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net
Warren Daniel: (919) 715-7823(828) 433-0700Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net
Martin Nesbitt: (919) 715-3001(828) 252-0490Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net
Buck Newton: (919) 715-3030(919) 715-3030
Earline Parmon: (919) 733-5620, (336) 767-7395, Earline.Parmon@ncleg.net
Jerry Tillman: (919) 733-5870, (336) 431-5325, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net
Tom Apodaca: 919) 733-5745, (828) 696-0574, Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net

Bryan Holloway (Chair): 919-733-5609, 336-985-0826,
Marcus Brandon: 919-733-5825, 336-987-3357, Marcus.Brandon@ncleg.net
Tricia Cotham: 919-715-0706, 919-715-0706, Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net
Jeffrey Elmore: 919-733-5935, 
Craig Horn: 99-733-2406, 704-844-9960, Craig.Horn@ncleg.net
Larry Pittman: 919-715-2009, 704-782-3528, 
(Larry has already expressed opposition to CC, having introduced the bill to halt it during the last session.)
Michael Speciale: 919-733-5853, 252-635-5326, 
Tim Moore: 919-733-4838, 704-739-1221, 

No comments:

Post a Comment